Famed Indy Mile to cap busy week for the stars of AMA Pro Flat Track

NEWS August 6, 2014

Famed Indy Mile to cap busy week for the stars of AMA Pro Flat Track

Photo by Dave Hoenig

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (Aug. 6, 2014) - More than 2,300 miles separated the three stops AMA Pro Flat Track competitors had to make in a span of just seven days, but now, only one mile is left - the Indy Mile, which is scheduled for this Friday, August 8.

The best dirt track riders in the world are culminating a whirlwind weeklong tour of the United States that began with the Castle Rock TT in Washington on Saturday, moved to Black Hills Raceway in Rapid City, S.D., for an event ultimately washed away by Mother Nature on Tuesday, and now on to the famous circuit at the Indiana State Fairgrounds.

The AMA Pro Road Racing Vance & Hines Harley Davidson Series and MotoGP are running just miles away at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, and MotoGP superstar Marc Marquez will serve as the Grand Marshal for the event, which is Round 11 on the Grand National Championship schedule.

On-track action is scheduled to begin at 3 p.m. (noon PT) with opening ceremonies slated for 7 p.m. (4 p.m. PT). The Pro Singles main is set for 9:40 p.m. (6:40 p.m. PT) with the Expert main capping the night at 10:10 p.m. (7:10 p.m. PT). Every moment of the event can be viewed live in high definition at FansChoice.tv.

Torrential rains flooded out the Black Hills Speedway event, meaning the Expert championship chase remained unchanged following Castle Rock.

Rogers Racing's Jared Mees holds a six-point advantage for the title on his No. 9 Harley-Davidson over Bryan Smith and his No. 42 Villa-Esparza/Crosley Radio Kawasaki. Ramspur Winery's Jake Johnson is in third, 11 points in back of Mees.

Smith has won two of the last three Indy Miles, including a 5.12-second victory in 2013. Sammy Halbert and his No. 7 South East Harley Davidson won the event in 2012 and sit fourth in the points chase.

Since the Indy Mile's return to the AMA Pro Flat Track schedule in 2008 after an eight-year hiatus, Harley-Davidson has won three times with the other two checkered flags claimed by a Kawasaki. Smith can even that record up if he crosses the finish line first for what would be his third victory on mile circuits this season.

Mees and Johnson are the only two riders in the top five in the championship hunt who haven't won an Expert main at the Indy Mile. Zanotti Racing's Kenny Coolbeth sits fifth in points with his No. 2 Harley-Davidson, and will be looking to move back into the thick of the hunt with what would be his second win in the event along with a 2009 victory. Coolbeth was also the fast qualifier in South Dakota before the weather stopped cooperating.

Brandon Robinson on the No. 44 USC Kawasaki rolls into Indianapolis sixth in points with Castle Rock winner Henry Wiles (No. 17 Don's Kawasaki) and Brad Baker (No. 1 Factory Harley-Davidson) sitting just behind him with 102 points each. Wiles and Baker are both coming off their best finishes of the season.

AMA Pro Flat Track Pro Singles

Last year's Pro Singles winner, Shayna Texter, has moved up to the Expert class, so there will not be a repeat winner among the up-and-comers at the Indy Mile.

Instead, fans will be treated to a fierce points battle between current championship leader Davis Fisher on the No. 67M T.J. Burnett Farms Honda and Kyle Johnson and his No. 77J Parkinson Brothers Racing Honda.

Fisher holds an 11-point lead over Johnson and hasn't missed the podium in a Pro Singles event since the season opener at Daytona. Johnson had won four out of five races entering Castle Rock, but settled for 14th in Washington, allowing Fisher to retake the championship lead.

Ryan Wells is sitting in third, 18 points behind Fisher, on his 94B KTM. Wells is yet to finish outside the top 10 this year, and is one of just two riders, along with Fisher, who can make that claim.

How to Watch
FansChoice.tv will be the official home for live streaming coverage of AMA Pro Flat Track and AMA Pro Road Racing events in 2014. The site will also provide coverage of IMSA's development and single-make series, and NASCAR's touring and weekly series.

About AMA Pro Flat Track
AMA Pro Flat Track is a national motorcycle racing series in North America and is considered one of the oldest forms of motorcycle racing. Sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing, the Series is highly regarded as the most competitive form of dirt track racing in the world. The 2014 schedule consists of 16 rounds on the country's finest flat track courses. For more information on AMA Pro Flat Track, please visit www.amaproracing.com/ft.

  • Dunlop
  • Harley-Davidson
  • Howe Enterprises
  • MotoBatt
  • Saddlemen
  • Sunoco
  • Thom Duma Fine Jewelers