RACE REPORT: Sallstrom, Redmann and McKrush Win Pro Hillclimb Opener

NEWS June 5, 2011

RACE REPORT: Sallstrom, Redmann and McKrush Win Pro Hillclimb Opener

JEFFERSON, Pa. (June 5, 2011) - Kicking off the 2011 AMA Pro Hillclimb season at Jefferson, PA, 2010 Xtreme Class Champion Nathan Redmann picked up right where he left off by taking the Xtreme Class win at the series opener, making this his third series opener win. Redmann rode early in the first half and posted a fast time that would be hard to beat. Although his first ride would have kept him in first, he then followed it up in the second half by shaving off more than three-tenths of a second from his earlier time, thus clinching the win. Redmann attributed his win, in part, to staying out of the deepening ruts on the hill and giving a clean ride. Colby McCutcheon and Chris VanHyning rounded out the Xtreme Class podium with second and third place.

The 2010 Unlimited Class Rookie of the Year Jay Sallstrom will always remember the Jefferson hill—being the place where he achieved his first ever Unlimited Class win. Standing in seventh place at the half, Sallstrom soared to the top on his second ride at a lightning fast 7.1 second pace—a full second off of his first-half time, and the fastest time of the day. McCutcheon alternatively dropped from first to second, despite bettering his first-half time. Phil Libhart took the third step on the podium, edging out Shane Green by less than a tenth of a second.

The Pro Sport Class podium consisted of three riders who are relatively new to AMA Pro Hillclimb. Joey McKrush, who hadn't raced since the sixth round of 2010, took the win with a 9.209 second ride in the first half. Another newcomer, John Koester, placed second with a second-half ride just 66-thousandths behind McKrush. 2011 Rookie Lester Kline III posted a time of 9.578 seconds on his first ride, taking the third spot on the podium. McKrush said his formula for success was practice, practice…and more practice.

AMA Pro Hillclimbers are off to the Bushkill Valley Motorcycle Club's Freemansburg, PA hill for Round 2 on Sunday, June 12th.

U/L: 1. Jay Sallstrom (Yam); 2. Colby McCutcheon (Yam); 3. Phil Libhart (Tri); 4. Shane Green (Hon); 5. Nate Redmann (Yam)

Xtreme: 1. Nate Redmann (Yam); 2. Colby McCutcheon (Suz); 3. Chris VanHyning (Hon); 4. Phil Libhart (Tri); 5. Jay Sallstrom (Hon)

Pro Spt: 1. Joey McKrush (Suz); 2. John Koester (Suz); 3. Lester Kline III (KTM); 4. Ian Lau (Hon); 5. Matthew Gillespie (Hon)

For complete results for this event, as well as up to date points standings, please visit the AMA Pro Racing Hillclimb page.

  • Alco Cleaners
  • Psych MX Grafix
  • VP Race Fuels
  • Wiseco