Sallstrom, Redmann and Chartier Win 2012 AMA Pro Hillclimb Opener at White Rose Motorcycle Club

NEWS June 5, 2012

Sallstrom, Redmann and Chartier Win 2012 AMA Pro Hillclimb Opener at White Rose Motorcycle Club

Photo by Jeff Whitehead

JEFFERSON, Pa. (June 3, 2012) - When the White Rose Motorcycle Club hosted the 2012 AMA Pro Hillclimb series opener and celebrated 60 years of hillclimbing, 35 riders turned out with 44 bikes to challenge the hill. The race must have seemed like deja vu to Nathan Redmann and Jay Sallstrom, the current Xtreme and Unlimited class champions, respectively. Both riders had first place wins- just like they did at last year's opener on the same hill. The Pro Sport win went to pro hillclimbing newcomer, Chris Chartier, Jr.

Redmann, with three Xtreme Class championships in a row, rode first in the order and on his second ride up the hill posted a blistering time of 7.419 seconds for the win. Robby DeBusk and Shane Green posted fast times, too, but they were both off Redmann's mark by more than a quarter-second.

2011 Unlimited Class Champ, Jay Sallstrom poured it on for the win on his second ride. He scored an E.T. of just 7.064 seconds. Vinny Nuzzolilli, leading after his first run, found himself one step down on the podium with a 7.418 second finish. Colby McCutcheon, Salstrom's teammate, posted a 7.709 second time for third place.

In Xtreme and Unlimited racing one team, the Dr. Bob's Racing Team, took two class wins and occupied four of the six podium steps, not a bad day.

The Pro Sport Class attracted nine riders including four first-timers. Chris Chartier, Jr. took the win despite having competed in Pro Sport only once before. He laid down a nearly-perfect ride in just 9.152 second. Class Champ, Ian Lau was just 0.127 seconds behind with rookie, Brandon Urban rounding out the podium just two-hundredths of the winning pace.

AMA Pro Hillclimbers face off next at the Bushkill Valley Motorcycle Club's Freemansburg, Pa. hill for round two on June 10.

U/L: 1. Jay Sallstrom (Yam); 2. Vinny Nuzzolilli (Hon); 3. Colby McCutcheon (Yam); 4. Shane Green (Hon); 5. Nate Redmann (Yam).
Xtreme: 1. Nate Redmann (Yam); 2. Robbie DeBusk (Yam); 3. Shane Green (Hon); 4. Colby McCutcheon (Hon); 5. Vinny Nuzzolilli (Hon).
Pro Spt: 1. Chris Chartier, Jr (Hon); 2. Ian Lau (Hon); 3. Brandon Urban (Hon); 4. Andrew Coyne (Hon); 5. Angie Farnsworth (KTM).

  • Alco Cleaners
  • Psych MX Grafix
  • VP Race Fuels
  • Wiseco