Close Competition and Year-End Awards Banquet Bring AMA Pro Road Racing Season to a Close

NEWS September 17, 2009

 Close Competition and Year-End Awards Banquet Bring AMA Pro Road Racing Season to a Close

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (September 17, 2009) - A full holiday weekend of close competition and enthusiastic celebrations brought the 2009 AMA Pro Road Racing season to a spectacular close with the inaugural AMA Pro Superbike Championships at New Jersey Motorsports Park (NJMP), September 4 - 6, and the AMA Pro Road Racing Awards Banquet, which was held Labor Day Monday, September 7, at the Tropicana Casino and Resort in Atlantic City.

-- Click here to watch the Banquet Introduction, courtesy of --

Record seven-time AMA Pro National Guard American Superbike presented by Parts Unlimited Champion Mat Mladin and AMA Pro Daytona SportBike presented by AMSOIL Champion Danny Eslick earned 2009's top rider titles but were just two of this season's champions.  A total of eight rider, team and manufacturer champions were crowned in New Jersey while several other race winners and top-three championship performers from the 2009 season were also honored at the Atlantic City Awards Banquet.

Mladin, who retired at the conclusion of the season, clinched the unprecedented seventh American Superbike title one race before the New Jersey finale on the strength of a series-high total of 10 wins in the year's 20 races.  The dominating Australian ripped off a string of seven consecutive wins to open the year and also scored a series-leading eight poles in 11 event weekends this season.  Mladin's opening win streak stretched from March's opener in Daytona through both weekend finals at Barber Motorsports Park in early May.  He also scored victories in the Sunday final at Infineon Raceway and Race 1 at Road America before scoring the final win of his career in the Red Bull U.S. Grand Prix at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca on the Fourth of July weekend.

Mladin shared title honors with his No. 7 Rockstar/Makita Yoshimura Suzuki GSX-R1000 team members, who won the 2009 AMA Pro American Superbike Team Championship.  Mladin and  Rockstar/Makita Yoshimura were also the anchor performers in a strong season that saw Suzuki capture the 2009 AMA Pro American Superbike Manufacturer Championship.

Josh Hayes emerged as Yamaha's top American Superbike rider this season and mounted a late season charge on the No. 4 Yamaha Motor Corp. USA Yamaha R1 to lock down second in the rider championship during the New Jersey finale.  Second only to Mladin's 10 victories, Hayes scored seven wins, including impressive sweeps in three of the year's final four doubleheader weekends.  The run of doubles included New Jersey, the Suzuki Big Kahuna Nationals one event earlier at Virginia International Raceway (VIR) and the Honda Super Cycle Weekend at Mid-Ohio in July.  Hayes also put a stop to Mladin's opening race win streak, and Suzuki's multi-year lock on the American Superbike division, with a breakout victory in Race 1 at Infineon in May.

Mladin's teammate Tommy Hayden finished third in the 2009 AMA Pro American Superbike Championship after ranking second for the majority of the season on the No. 22 Rockstar/Makita Yoshimura Suzuki GSX-R1000.  Although winless in his Superbike career, Hayden finished in the top three in half of 2009's races.  That record included the Saturday final at New Jersey where Hayden earned his seventh second-place finish of the year.

Daytona SportBike Wrap

Eslick won the AMA Pro Daytona SportBike presented by AMSOIL crown on the strength of six victories in the season's 20 races.  His title came in partnership with his No. 9 GEICO Powersports/RMR Buell 1125R team members, who won the 2009 AMA Pro Daytona SportBike Team Championship.

Eslick and the No. 9 RMR Buell team were on the podium in half of this season's races, which included a pair of doubleheader weekend sweeps at Auto Club Speedway in March and Mid-Ohio later in the season.  He also won on Saturday in the Tornado Nationals at Heartland Park Topeka and Sunday at Road Atlanta in April.  The strong season by Eslick and his team also kept Buell in a year-long manufacturer battle with Kawasaki and Yamaha. 

Like his counterpart Hayes in American Superbike, a late-season tear by Josh Herrin on the No. 8 Team Graves Yamaha YZF-R6 helped Yamaha clinch the AMA Pro Daytona SportBike Manufacturer Championship.  Herrin swept both the New Jersey and Big Kahuna VIR weekends to win the year's final four races.  The impressive run not only sealed the manufacturer title for Yamaha but also vaulted Herrin to second in the final AMA Pro Daytona SportBike rider standings.

Daytona SportBike race-win leader Martin Cardenas was Eslick's toughest championship challenger this season.  The seven-time race winner and his No. 36 Team M4 Suzuki GSX-R600 team were actually tied with Eslick and the No. 9 RMR Buell squad for first in the championship heading into the Big Kahuna weekend, only to see Cardenas suffer a compound fracture of his right hand in a Friday morning practice crash.  The tough Colombian raced at VIR despite the injury but ultimately withdrew from the New Jersey finale.  Despite the disappointment, Cardenas still finished third in Daytona SportBike rider points and joined Eslick in some dominating 2009 race weekend performances.  He also made 10 podium appearances this season with the highlights being back-to-back event weekend sweeps at the Infineon and Barber weekends.  His victory in Race 1 at Road Atlanta was the first Daytona SportBike victory of his career, and Cardenas also won the Sunday finals at Road America and at Topeka.

SuperSport Double Titles

The AMA Pro SuperSport presented by Shoei division also saw its pair of 2009 champions crowned in Atlantic City, but not before respective champions Josh Day, on the No. 4 Team E.S.P. Yamaha YZF-R6, and No. 96 Ricky Parker Racing/Team Graves Yamaha YZF-R6 rider Ricky Parker put on a thriller in the New Jersey finale.  The two riders swapped the lead repeatedly lap after lap before East Champ Day ultimately won the race by .460 of a second over West Champ Parker.

The win was Day's fourth straight, which led all SuperSport riders this year.  He sealed the East title one race before the New Jersey finale at VIR.  Parker won two races and wrapped up the West championship in that division's finale at Topeka in August.  Day's four-race win streak came at Mid-Ohio, Topeka, VIR and New Jersey while Parker earned his victories at Infineon and Laguna Seca. 

J.D. Beach (No. 73 Rockwall Performance/Red Bull Yamaha YZF-R6) finished second in the SuperSport East final standings and two-time race winner Leandro Mercado (No. 92 Monster Energy Attack Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R) was third.  In the West division, Bryce Prince (No. 74 Clawson Motorsports Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R) finished second while Clint Shobert (No. 26 American Honda/Pro Honda Oils & Chemicals Honda CBR600RR) rounded out the top three in the final standings.

Next up on the 2009 SuperSport schedule is the National Championship Shootout at Daytona International Speedway, October 16 - 18. The lucrative non-points race is open to any rider that has run at least one SuperSport race this season, with the winner earning the title of SuperSport National Champion.


- The spectator audien

blog comments powered by Disqus
  • Vance and Hines