NEWS September 29, 2010


LEEDS, Ala. (September 29. 2010) - GEICO Powersports RMR Suzuki's Danny Eslick put forth a valiant effort to repeat as the AMA Pro Daytona SportBike at the Barber Motorsports Park finale but came up just a handful of points short following an intense season-long battle.


The Oklahoman fought through tire issues during Saturday's brawl to salvage a fifth-place ride and them came up with a gritty runner-up finish in Sunday's season finale to consolidate second-place in the 2010 championship standings.


Giving everything he had in his search for a second consecutive class title, Eslick pushed the limits throughout the weekend. As a result he crashed during practice and qualifying and banged fairings with his rivals on more than one occasion as he refused to give in.


Eslick held the lead as late as lap 19 of 21 in Sunday's decisive finale after a mid-race red flag gave him a renewed opportunity to retain his crown but he just didn't quite have the pace to match his rival in the final run to the checkered flag despite his all-out effort on his Lucas Oil-sponsored Suzuki GSX-R600.


"I got a good jump on the first start but I just didn't have anything for the leaders. After the red flag I got off to another good start. We made a spring change and there was a world of difference," said Eslick.


"I tore up a bunch of motorcycles this weekend. I feel bad. I crashed more times this weekend than I think I did all year and all the years leading up to this weekend just really going for it. There was a lot on the line and we were really going for it. But in the end we just got beat this year. We gave it a heckuva shot and we're going to come back next year swinging."


The GEICO Powerports RMR Suzuki team would like to congratulate Martin Cardenas and the M4 Monster Energy Suzuki team for winning a hard-fought championship in a fantastic season of racing in the AMA Pro Daytona SportBike class.


Eslick didn't walk away empty handed, however, as he was awarded the 2010 AMA Pro Vance & Hines XR1200 title despite sitting out the last two rounds based on the strength of his three straight victories to open the series' history.


RMR Bruce Rossmeyer Daytona Racing's Robert Tinagero picked up a fourth-place result in Sunday's wet contest while Michael Corbino finished ninth.


Despite narrowly missing a championship repeat, Eslick and the GEICO Powersports RMR Suzuki squad enjoyed a spectacular season. Eslick ended the year with three victories, ten podiums, four pole positions, and eight lap leader points to his credit in what was a truly memorable 2010 campaign.


GEICO Powersports RMR Suzuki is sponsored by GEICO Powersports, Lucas Oil, Suzuki, Millennium Technologies, Vortex Sprockets, EBC Brakes, and Pilot.


RMR Bruce Rossmeyer Daytona Racing Harley Davidson is sponsored by GEICO Powersports, Lucas Oil, Bruce Rossmeyer Destination Daytona, Revolution Performance, Pilot, EBC Brakes, Race Tech, Orient Express, and Pit Bull.

blog comments powered by Disqus
  • Vance and Hines