AMA Pro Flat Track » Don Tilley Memorial Charlotte Half-Mile

Track - 2014 - Daytona International Speedway

NEWS February 26, 2013

Daytona International Speedway will once again play host to AMA Pro Road Racing as the series kicks off another exciting season with the DAYTONA 200 Week, scheduled for March 13-15, 2014. The highlight of the week is America’s longest running endurance motorcycle race, the DAYTONA 200. This 200-mile endurance spectacular features the stars of AMA Pro GoPro Daytona SportBike in a bar-to-bar brawl on Saturday afternoon.

At the 72nd running of the historic race in 2013, Cameron Beaubier dominated the competition as he did in many races during the season. The Californian claimed the victory by a whopping 22.254 seconds over second-place finisher Garrett Gerloff.

Although AMA Pro SuperBike legend Mat Mladin’s 2004 DAYTONA 200 victory holds the outright record for completing 200 miles around the 3.56-mile traditional road course in 1:46:51.490, Beaubier set a new record for completing the 200-mile trek on the 3.51-mile traditional motorcycle course by finishing in 1:47:07.746 seconds. For 2014, Beaubier will ascend the ranks to the premier AMA Pro SuperBike division to compete alongside Monster Energy Graves teammate and three-time AMA Pro SuperBike Champion Josh Hayes.

In AMA Pro SuperBike at Daytona last year, Josh Herrin and Martin Cardenas took advantage of two Josh Hayes bike malfunctions, resulting in each of them recording a victory to begin the season. Herrin would go on to win three more races and eventually claim his maiden AMA Pro SuperBike Championship.

In AMA Pro SuperSport, Colombians Stefano Mesa and Tomas Puerta each recorded a single victory to begin their 2013 campaigns. Like Herrin did in AMA Pro SuperBike, Puerta kept rolling after his big Daytona win in the SuperSport division, claiming two more victories and eventually capturing the overall AMA Pro SuperSport Championship. The AMA Pro Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson Series didn’t disappoint either, as Tyler O’Hara outlasted a charging Kyle Wyman by a mere .075 seconds to capture his lone victory of the 2013 season.

Track Records (2.90-Mile Short Course)


Distance Date Rider Time Machine
QUAL 3/6/2008 Mat Mladin 1:35.759 Suzuki
15 LAPS 3/8/2008 Mat Mladin 24:12.908 Suzuki



Distance Date Rider Time Machine
QUAL 3/5/2009 Josh Day 1:43.063 Yamaha
12 LAPS 3/5/2009 Tyler Odom 20:37.087 Honda

Track Records (3.51-Mile Traditional Motorcycle Course)


Distance Date Rider Time Machine
QUAL 3/5/2009 Ben Bostrom 1:49.093 Yamaha
57 LAPS 3/16/2013 Cameron Beaubier 1:47:07. 746 Yamaha



Distance Date Rider Time Machine
QUAL 10/16/2009 Josh Day 1:51.227 Yamaha
10 LAPS 3/16/2012 James Rispoli 18:52.458 Suzuki



Distance Date Rider Time Machine
QUAL 3/16/2012 Kyle Wyman 2:05.633 H-D
7 LAPS 3/16/2012 Kyle Wyman 14:55.497 H-D


blog comments powered by Disqus
  • Vance and Hines